24-hour make-a-long!

Last night, I blew another 2 hours watching Hulu (fine, 3 if you add all of the youtube-d blooper videos I watched, because I love it when people fail to keep their shit together).  I sit at a computer all day at work, subscribe to way too many blogs and fail to read them all, and with this new-fangled blogging dream I have, I spend the majority of my life staring at a computer screen.

This is my only major complaint when it comes to techmologies, especially when I look at the pitiful amount of free space I have left in my Google calendar.  There is no way on this earth that I can read everything I want to online, compose thoughtful replies to it (online), amuse myself with random internet detritus, keep 3 jobs, stay in touch with friends, visit family, and possibly have any time to myself.

So in short my complaint is this: there’s too much internetz.   Stop being so prolific, people.  It could very easily suck all of my time away.  This means I have to institute some boundaries: including (but not limited to) allowing myself to click on the “mark all items as read” button, even if I haven’t read all items.  Because, I can read all of the sweet tutorials I want to, but if I don’t allow myself time to actually do the projects, what the hell good is it?

At this point, I have to give myself explicit permission to stay away from the computer, because there are so many things I could be doing (job hunting, finally weeding through my mp3s, learning how to format this blog, actually finishing my LinkedIn profile, et cetera…)

Which brings me to my point: Lee, over at her blog leethal, is hosting a 24-hour make-a-long, the goal of which is to get yourself away from the computer and make stuff. That’s it!  She’s coupling it with the April Stash-Bust, which I think is fabulous, and therefore I am going to copycat.

Banner for April Stash Bust

But, I really want to do this.   I suppose I have to use up at least one of those stray skeins of yarn I have lying around first.

So, march’s Saturday, April 10th:  it’s MAKIN’ time.

1 comment so far

  1. Awesome! Lee’s idea is amazing! Thanks for linking to April Stash Bust!

    I actually spent like 300 minutes last night watching youtube videos (some guy’s 90 minute reviews of the newer Star Wars movies)… couldn’t believe I watched them for that long!


Leave a Reply

