to lifehacker

Oh, Lifehacker.  You’re littered with posts on how to save a minute here, a minute there, and make life simpler by using wire shelving to hide your computer cord clutter, or clever little apps that disable your keyboard so you can clean it without disconnecting it from your computer.

The thing is, LH (may I call you LH?) I can easily spend an hour catching up on all of your posts in my reader, and the amount of actual advice I’ve utilized from them is, well… actually, I don’t know if I have successfully utilized any of it.  I want to build my own moss terrarium for work, but both of my jobs are ending in a few months and I don’t know if I’ll have a place to put them after I leave.  I want to create my own pot rack out of a chain hung from the ceiling, but I’m moving in a month so what’s the point in doing that?

I need to find a new job.  I need to work on getting accepted to graduate school.  I need to find a new apartment.  And when I’m not doing those things, I’m already thinking about this blog and the innumerable froo-froo projects* that clutter up my space that are neglected when I play through a trial version of Half Life 2 because I’ve been putting off buying the real version because I don’t have money to be spending on unnecessary things like video games that suck away my already limited spare time.

I don’t blame you, Lifehacker.  This hurts me more than it hurts you.  Maybe one day, when I have steady employment and stable housing, I can visit with you again.  Right now, we just need some time apart.

*Though it cuts me deep, CRAFTzine may not be far behind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

